A TRI & Why I Don’t Sign Up For More Races

**Thank you SO MUCH for everyone’s help in calming me down and supporting me yesterday as I had some tough mental battles… I appreciate it and you guys more than I can express**

I am doing an Olympic distance Triathlon in Indianapolis on August 4th !!

I could tell I was definitely on a runner’s high from my PAIN FREE 6 mile run on Monday, because I am pretty sure I made the decision to sign up for an Olympic Triathlon (Tri Indy), that is in  less than 4 weeks, without a second thought…. I would have signed up Monday night but my mom for some reason was thinking that that weekend we are going to go on 1 of 4 possible mini vacay’s to either a lake house, smoky mountains, hiking lodge…. ya. To be honest I don’t think any of these will happen and it is just her way of raining on my parade (see below for exactly why this is the case…) Regardless of the reason, I was able to convince her to let me sign up for my first Olympic Distance Triathlon on August 4th!! So pumped!!

Speaking of races…there are so many races and athletic endeavors that I want to complete!! A Half-Ironman, and Full Ironman, more Marathons, an Ultra, Grand Canyon Rim-to-Rim, Leadville Marathon, Great Wall of China Marathon… I could go on all day!!

My mom (and sometimes my dad) seem to really dislike fitness events that seem “hard” or “extreme” by their standards because they are worried about my health. They just don’t think I have enough “umph” (i.e. weight/strength/proper nutrition) to be safe and healthy to do some of the things I propose. Honestly, it was a miracle that I convinced them that I was OK to do another Marathon. Because of this, many races/events I dream about stay as dreams, rather than becoming realities.

You might be thinking, “Come on Andrea, you are 23 years old. Do you really still have to do what your parents say??” Well, actually, kind of… Yes. And this is because I respect and love my mom and dad so much.  My dad is generously helping me out financially with my apartment and grad school, and they still take me (and my sister) on vacations where they pay for us, they are letting me stay with them for my job in Indianapolis this summer… I guess I still feel very dependent on them, but also very respectful of the power they still have over me. Things will change once I graduate, but for now… yes, I still need their approval/permission to do things if for nothing else than to dodge an argument and keep the great family dynamic I am lucky enough to have!

I too realize that in order for me to physically complete these longer endurance events SAFELY, I will need to get stronger, more powerful, and over-all healthier. I am and always have been a girl of extremes who jumps into challenges full force. So for my parents to worry when I propose longer, harder, activities which they know I will kill my body in order to complete, it is only natural and to be expected.

And I love them for this.

What events do you dream of doing???

Anyone/thing holding you back?

What do i wear for my Triathlon?!?!!? Help!!!

14 comments

  1. Ahhhh so excited for you!! Train hard, eat right and get some sleep and you’ll be just fine 🙂

    1. Will do!! Thanks I am very excited!!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m the same way. I love my parents and they almost always question my choices in terms of racing. I get really frustrated with them but I also do listen (most of the time) because the support me and only want me to be safe, healthy, and happy. It’s a tough bind but in the end, parents are usually right.

    1. haha they would love hearing us admit that “parents are usually right/know best”….glad to hear I am not alone in my “listen to my parents” department!

  3. yogachic1212 · · Reply

    My parents are the same way. It took a lot of convincing for them to let me sign up for the rock n’ roll marathon in March next year. That’s awesome that you had a pain free run though! Runner’s high is the best, I live for it!
    Also, props to you for wanting to do an Ironman! That scares me, haha! But I guess the only way to live is to do things that are out of your comfort zone 🙂
    Have a wonderful day, hon! 🙂

    1. Oh I am so excited for you to do the rock n’ roll next spring!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!!
      I like also hearing that I am not the only one who values their parents opinion and listens to them.. even as an “adult” ((still don’t consider myself one haha))
      And yes I am the same way… i love doing thing that I can’t Imagine doing because they seem so hard and scary!!! haha those are the best things in life usually!!!
      Thanks as always for the good wishes 🙂 you have been wonderful the past couple of posts/days as I work through this rough patch!

  4. I love this post. First of all, WOW, an Olympic tri in 4 weeks! That’s killer…have fun!! Have you done one before? I think I’d drown. Secondly, I love the respect you have for your parents. Even though I’m now financially on my own, my parents supported me all the way through college and grad school, and I always listen to their advice. I think it’s important not to outgrow that 🙂

    1. haha I have done some sprint tri’s and LOVE them!! But this is defnitely a bit tougher….I know I can make it, it is just a question of how “happy” I am while doing it!!

      So happy to hear that you still listen to their advice!! I honestly don’t see that changing for me any time soon! I mean why not listen to people who’s advice is completely based upon the love they have for me?! Glad you are able to still receive your parents thoughts as well 🙂

  5. So excited to see Leadville on your list!! It was such an amazing experience- I can’t wait to do it again…and maybe in a couple years we can do it together?!
    I think it’s good that you respect your parents wishes regarding these things. Ultimately they just want the best for you and while they are still so (financially) supportive, I think it’s only right that you listen to them 🙂

    1. Ohhh girl Leadville is DEFINITELY on my list!! I loved reading your race recap of it too! Made me even more sure I wanted to do it! That is most defnitely a race I would want to run with someone though! So YES in a few years if we are both planning on doing it I think a little meet-up is in order!!

  6. We never outgrow our need for our parents wisdom in our lives. I feel so blessed that my parents care enough to stay involved in my life to the point that they can give me advice on things that I’m doing/not doing. Some may see it as controlling on their part, or dependent on mine, but I truly believe that fostering a strong relationship with our parents for our ENTIRE life is one of the wisest things we can do!! 🙂

    1. Yes that is a great way to say it!!! I sometimes feel like people “judge” me for listening to my parents at my age… thinking I am immature and dependent on them, but it is so not the case! It is awesome that you have a great relationship with your parents as well!! We are lucky girls… not everyone has that blessing!
      Have a great rest of your weekend!

  7. […] so super relaxing! On top of it, I was able to finally get a swim in for my semi-training for the Olympic Tri I have in a few weeks! I thought I would die… but the more I swam the better I felt! The […]

  8. […] I am worried how these “bad runs” will effect my Triathlon this coming weekend. I want to do well (obviously). I feel like a few weeks ago… or a few […]

Leave a Reply

