So the weird Deal with my Shins…

Leave it to me to find the perfect mixture of multiple things to promote EXTREMELY PAINFUL AND LONG-LASTING shin splints. Story of my life…

From the moment they started hurting, I immediately stopped running. This actually was very easy to do since I could barely walk. But the pain did not subside. My right ankle ended up swelling so badly I lost almost complete movement of the foot. I started icing even more, over-dosing on Advil, and tightly wrapping my ankle to move the swelling out of my ankle.

It was not until the last 3 days here that I have seen improvement and have been able to walk without a limp. PTL!!

But seriously… like why in the world did shin splints take so long to start to heal?

Answer= Sun poisoning on my shin.

Wait, come again? A bad sun burn? Yep. Awesome. I was so so busy working the rope swing with campers one HOT day that I literally didn’t have time to lotion up (or breath) and got very badly burned. My shin looked horrible… all blotchy and red. But what I didn’t know, was that combining the burn with my intense hill runs was causing fluid to get up under the muscle and fill in the cavity between my shin bone and muscle to the point where there was just no more room, i.e causing AWFUL pain.

It is so weird. I could feel and HEAR the fluid in my shin, but didn’t know what it was. I can move my foot up and down and hear my shin squeaking. It sounded exactly like a squeegee on a car windshield. Grossssss.

But YAY!!! Good news is I should continue compression socks, Advil, and no running (ok that is Boo) and they will go away. No long term harm done!

July 27 I have the Big Ten 10k race in Chicago where I am running with a friend (I am running for Purdue and she for Michigan) and it will just be a FUN relaxed run! Perfect! Then we are going to a Sox’s game (duhh gotta do that when in Chicago)! So hopefully I can be ready to run that!!

Have you had a similar shin splint story?? (please say it is not just me.)

When is your next race!!!

10 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I’m glad you aren’t a total mystery and know what’s wrong! Shin splints suck and I’ve been there many times. Who would have thought a sunburn could do that?! Yay for being on the mend 🙂

    1. Thanks girl!!! I am just so glad it is not a stress fracture I could sing and dance for joy! ((ok maybe that is exactly what I did…)) I just hope I can come back to running after over a month off and not lose ALL my ability!!!

  2. wow, that is crazy!! I’m glad its nothing more serious, take care of yourself!
    My next race is this Saturday, its a 15km race 🙂

    1. A 15k, nice!!! Never ran that distance as a race before!! Good luck!! Stay hydrated!!

  3. Wow! What a bizarre combination…I bet that it’s super rare, but I’m so glad that you got it figured out!! I hope you’re feeling better, soon! I split my head open yesterday on a fall, luckily after my long run, but I might be out of running for the next few days while it heals! Thankfully, no stitches!

    1. Oh my goodness!!!! that is awful I hope you are ok!! Praying for quick healing girl!! be careful out there!!

  4. Oh my gosh! That’s crazy– SO glad to hear that you won’t have a long-term injury!!

    1. I know me too! I am so relieved!! I was really preparing for the worst!

  5. […] I hope to do a workout before work….then I am hoping to run this evening! Don’t worry, I won’t push it!! Just miss running so much! But I will pay attention to the shin-splints! […]

  6. […] of it. Every since I had the worst shin splints ever back in June while at Young Life camp that put me off of running (and off of walking) for 5+ weeks… I am super duper […]

Leave a Reply

