My Life Changing Month in Michigan (Young Life)

I HAVE MISSED YOU GUYS SO MUCH!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, I am home.ย  It is 100% bittersweet. Great to be back in my bed. Awesome to be around NEW meals (we ate the same meals in the same order in a 6 day rotation that coincided with new groups of campers). Love the big shower with room to shave my legs. Happy to be with my family again.

That’s about it to be honest. My 1 month of serving on Summer Staff at Timber Wolf Lake in Michigan was the greatest experience of my life…. My heart was changed.

Growing up Christian, I had always know about God and Jesus. I was raised to be a good kid. Very polite, respectful. I never got in trouble. Never was sucked into drugs or alcohol. Never snuck-out at night. I got good grades. Was involved in school. Never had a “boy-crazy” stage in life. Had (and still have) solid, trustworthy friends. But it wasn’t until the past couple years that I learned what it meant to have a relationship with Jesus.

I was a “poster” child. And I was happy. I can honestly say the hardest most “tragic” thing to have happened to me is this 2 year struggle with my disordered eating. And even now I am seeking help and working on no longer letting it control me.

I have been absolutely blessed in my life thus far. But this month I was reminded that no matter how happy/easy/sad/hard your life is… it is nothing if you are not living for Jesus. Christ is my All. He is my Center. He is my Rock and Solid Ground.

My life has changed this month. I put myself in a situation that only a few months ago would have me screaming with stress and anxiety and most likely would have headed home within the first few days. But the Lord placed me at Timber Wolf for a month for a reason. I have conquered my fears of sleep, food, fitness, late nights, social gatherings…. due to the strength of Jesus and TRUSTING HIS WORD AND LOVE FOR ME.

wpid-IMG_20130630_165501_217.jpg

While I am most definitely not healed from my eating and living habits developed over the past two years, I can tell you that I am more sure than ever that I can beat this. I have made such HUGE strides this past month. I have not been able to run or workout for 3 weeks straight, and yet I have eaten every single heavy camp meal. This would not have been possible a few months ago.

I am so excited to take home with me all that I gained from camp. God’s love for me runs deep, and I have to remember that all my worries and prayers that revolves around food and working-out is the work of Satan knowing how best to manipulate me and cause me pain. But not any more! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you guys so so much for your continued support! On the drive home I finally came clean to my sister (bff) all that I have been writing on here and just how deep my struggle with food has been. I also saw my Therapist Laura for the first time yesterday morning! I then went on the see my Sports Doctor for my shin splints (which will still take some time to heal, but thankfully is not a stress fracture)

I will keep you all updated when I can officially run again! Doc say’s I should be good to go by my July 27th 10k in Chicago! (It will not be fast, but I am just happy I can run it!)

So many things to be thankful for!

I know it will not all be down hill and cheery-blossoms from here, but I know that my HEART is changed and my HEAD is finally getting on track!

Have a GREAT DAY everyone and PTL everyone!! (Praise The Lord!)

14 comments

  1. Hi andrea- thanks for sharing this! I mentioned it once before but I just relate so much to the experiences you have shared here, and now to your testimony too! This was a much needed reminder for me that worth is defined by Christ in us and not by our own efforts or successes over trials or “perfection” (ha!). So glad you had an encouraging month at camp!!

    1. I am so glad to hear that you also want to be defined by Christ and not any earthly, temporary things! I have to remind myself of this every day… some days are easier to accept than others… but it is a relief!! Thanks for the encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you are finding happiness joy and peace in your life!!

  2. Welcome Home! Sounds like you had an amazing time at camp! Thanks for sharing about your time there with us!
    I appreciate your reminder- if I’m not living fully for Christ, nothing in my life matters at all.
    Loved your comment about the big shower! haha!

    1. oh- and prayers for quick healing for your shin splints- ouchie!!! Glad to hear that it’s NOT a stress fracture!

      1. So glad you are living for Christ as well!!! I have to work on it when I get caught up on body image, stress, school, work, running, eating, etc…. but when I close my eyes and focus on the Lord i know that THAT is what counts and where the importance of life lies!
        I hope you are finding joy and peace!!

        Thanks for the good wishes on my shins!! ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great evening!!

  3. You are doing all the right things for yourself and I am so happy for you! keep it up!
    Glad the experience in MI was amazing for you too ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much!!! Yes I learned so much and really came out of that month a stronger person. i know where I want to be in terms of my food/fitness lifestyle, and now I just have to keep my mental perspective in check to get there!! thanks for the encouragement!! have a great week!

  4. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Oh girl I am so happy to hear it was a good experience! You have come so far, I can’t wait to start reading about your life again!

    1. Ahh thanks Sarah!! Yes it was an incredible month full of eye opening changes and experiences!! And I am getting caught up on YOUR life!! haha i am praying for your leg/calf pains!! running injuries are so frustrating!!!! why can’t we all just be healthy all the time?!? have a good one ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. […] went to the gym for the first time since before leaving for Michigan and I suffered through some basic lifting/abs/push-ups/kettle bell swings/lunges/squats. Boy am I […]

  6. […] and get back into shape!! I was so so sore for a few days after returning from Michigan (see recap HERE). But I have been loving […]

  7. […] has been hard since coming back from Young Life camp this summer in keeping with my devotionals and quiet times with God. I also have gotten so caught up with […]

  8. […] stay connected and up-to-date with many of the amazing men and women I worked with this summer at Young Life Timber Wolf Lodge in Michigan. They are inspiring, beautiful people who really show God’s love through all that they do. […]

  9. […] My Month in Michigan with Young Life. […]

Leave a Reply

