8 min Plank and 40 lbs of flour

No running=workout creativity.

I cannot do air squats because my shin/ankle is so swollen…. I can’t do burpees…. I can’t do lunges….

But I CAN do planks, situps, and push-ups! So those will be what I am perfecting for the next few (hopefully less??) weeks while I recover from the worlds worst shin splints (I wish I was just being dramatic… they literally are the worst pain ever.)

And with this, I decided to Go Big or Go Home. Therefore, I immediately set out to PR my plank–8 minutes straight baby!! I was pumped. It was a little workout victory in my now ‘non-running’ life. How did I stay occupied and keep my mind off of the pain? I repeated over and over the bible verse that we are memorizing for camp–John 15:1-17

So to help me NOT run in the morning and NOT eat breakfast for 3 hours straight before the “real” buffet breakfast later in the morning, I have been occupying my time with helping the Bakers at camp. My friends here on the baking crew are incredible. They get up so so early every morning to bake bread/cookies/sweets for the entire camp– upward of 700 people. They start early, and go late. It is honestly an honor and totally humbling to help them out.

Yesterday morning I made cinnamon rolls from scratch! My favorite part about these camp recipes? Well, the amount of ingredients are pretty hilarious. You can’t even really wrap your mind around it… like the call for 40 1/4 POUNDS of flour, 8 1/2 cups of oil, 12 POUNDS of sugar, etc. It is really just unreal and disgusting when you are making this stuff!!

I also have to say that after seeing the ingredients that go into these baked goods… I definitely think twice before eating them! I mean, I understand that they want these things to taste awesome for the campers, but a little healthy-awareness wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world, you know? Whatev’s.

Have a great one every body πŸ™‚

Thoughts on a recipe that calls for RIDICULOUS amounts of butter/oil/sugar/flour/etc… could you eat it without a second thought?

How would you (or would you?) exercise if you could not run or even do squats?? I need ideas!!!

 

24 comments

  1. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    Holy plank time! I can’t even fathom 8 minutes! That’s some serious core strength. I also can’t imagine what 40lbs of flour looks like. Hope the shins are better soon!!

    1. Thanks!! haha keep working on the planks and find something to distract you while doing them! Like instagram… that always works for me πŸ™‚

  2. 8 minute plank?!?!?! I am so impressed! My PR is 5 minutes and that was no easy feat!
    That’s so cool that you get to help out the bakers…and probably good for you to know what exactly is going into the things you have been eating.

    1. whooo hooo!! 5 mins is awesome! I started there as well! Just keep at them and find something to distract you!! And yes seeing what goes into these yummy yummy baked goods is definitely eye opening….

  3. I definitely would not be able to eat a meal with loads of butter/oil/etc. if I knew what was in it. I don’t really eat cinnamon rolls or anything like that for breakfast..but that is some crazy recipe! 8 minute planks?! ARE YOUR ABS MADE OF STEEL WOMAN?! You rock! My PR is like 2:30. WEAK SAUCE!

    Can you swim instead of running?

    1. I am trying to figure out if I can swim here.. they have some pretty strict rules, and also I don’t know if I can find the time since I have to change after swimming ((after running I just stay in gross clothes!!))

  4. Living Profitably · · Reply

    Awesome plank time! My max is 1 minute 45 second. Right now my goal is 3 minutes.

    1. You will get there for sure!! Just keep doing them and find something to keep you distracted!! LIke a book, tv show (or see if you can last the whole commercial!) I also recommend instagram πŸ™‚

  5. I would probably be a bit hesitant … ignorance is bliss, after all

    Swim or plank … can you bike?

    1. swimming maybe…. and no way to bike here 😦 I wish!!!! I am trying to figure out the swimming thing!

  6. Nah, I would not be hesitant, it tastes so good. Back in the day, ED would have me hesitate and say those things are “BAD” but my recovery voice knows that balance is key!!!

    1. great for you girl!! I am working on getting there! The cookies we make are seriously to die for!!!! yay for balance!! πŸ™‚

      1. Remind yourself that YOU deserve to enjoy them. Ed wants you to fear the ingredients used, but remember he wants you to be rigid and not enjoy life.

      2. Thank you! such a great reminder… this was exactly what i needed today as I made some more cookies and was GOING to pass one up for lunch. Then i thought…. wait!! You want one! They are delicious!! So I had half of one! And was satisfied and it was delicious!!

      3. That is great! YOU=Victory! ED=Loser!

  7. Oh my gosh!! 8 minute plank?!? Core of steel!!! I am tickled if I can make it to 2 minutes! πŸ™‚

    1. You got it girl!!! plank-a-day and you will get there!!! keep your mind busy somewhere else too!!

  8. the 8 minute plank line really blew my mind. I had to re-read that sentence…lol.. way to go!! one day I want to have a core (and mind) as strong as you to achieve that.

    I used to work at a bakery and there were always delicious things lying around. I found out how many calories were in certain things and I would usually be able to steer clear. if I really craved it, I’d just cut off a piece and not eat the whole thing. just try that with the cinnamon buns πŸ™‚

    1. haha thanks girl!!! just find something really distracting while you plank!

      Yes I have become great at trying a bite of everything and letting that be that!!

  9. That plank time is amazing, and kudos to you for making the most out of a workout when you’re physically unwell. I can’t imagine having shin splints at the point you have them at – I really feel for you girly, especially because you’re such an amazing runner. πŸ™‚ I really hope you start getting better soon. In the mean time, plank it out like WHOA! I laugh because I’ll never even reach 2 minutes. LOL!
    As for workouts, I turn to easy yoga when I can’t do much. I find it soothes me mentally and physically. πŸ™‚ ❀

    1. I took your advice and did some soft yoga this morning!!! just a nice stretch/ab session πŸ™‚ wonderful!!

  10. WHHHHHHAT! an 8 min plank, you rock!!!!! I am shaking and dying from my 2 min plank. I would do yoga πŸ™‚

    1. You got it girl!!! 2 min is AWESOME! I definitely didn’t start at 8 min haha

      1. Haha thanks! I will keep it up ! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

