BIG COOKIE Yumm, Wrestling, and Runs

Camp is gorgeous, is it not?

IMG_20130613_195657_107_1

Running path around the lake…

IMG_20130613_200716_514

The front lodge/dinning hall!

IMG_20130613_200221_113

The blob, rope swing, and kayaks!

So for the last week I have been back and forth with you guys talking, complaining, worrying about the food here. Well, let me make it VERY clear that the food is excellent. This is not the Average Joe camp. I guess when your mission is to show teenagers Jesus and highlight the complete LOVE He has for us… good food is absolutely ESSENTIAL. Fine by me!

Here is a quick picture of last nights dessert. I had no time to snap a picture before we dug in. When The Big Cookie comes out, it is every-man-for-himself, take-no-prisoners, fight-till-the-last-bite style of eating. No joke. We take it very seriously. Here are the remnants of The Big Cookie:

wpid-IMG_20130614_192935_781.jpg

A nice organized piece of Big Cookie….

wpid-IMG_20130614_192941_607.jpg

The attack of the Big Cookie straight from the pan…

It may look simple and no big deal… but let me explain. You are at a round table of 8 people, and out comes a cookie sheet the size of your stomach with a melted, warm, gooey, chocolate-ly BIG COOKIE with ice cream on top. It is pure genius in the simplicity of it.

We get Big Cookie on the first day of every new group of campers. So this was my second time having it. I will get it 2 more times. It is a love/hate relationship because there is zero self-control… and to be honest this is the one food item where I don’t want self control. You feel me? Good ๐Ÿ™‚

We do such fun activities at camp! I wanted to show you guys a quick video snap shot of what we call “Girls Wrestle For Guys’ but the file is too large and refuses to load. Hmm will try to figure that one out….. It is musical chairs (with guys as the chairs) and the girls walk around them until the music stops and tackles a guy to the ground to “win” him. It started out with about 5 guys and 6 girls, but I am only showing you guys the last round of 1 guy and 2 girls fighting for him. It gets serious!! We ladies tackle HARD for our man… do we not!!

Thank you all SO MUCH for your suggestions from my last post about my continued food/workout anxiety and struggles while here. A lot of you had great ideas, like going for a walk instead of a run, remembering my goals in the long term, drinking lots of water before meals, etc. I have already started putting to practice many of these things!

I went for a run yesterday morning. I was tired feeling but I just really wanted to get it in. I thought I would just do an easy 3 miler… but it turned out to be a little under 6 I think. My legs felt better the more I ran. Although the hills are still kicking my junk and I had the tightest left calf muscle ever climbing the uphills… hmm… I also ran it “naked” (aka no watch) which was exactly what I needed so I didn’t race myself.

Because of the run yesterday and the fact that I have only taken 1 day off in 7 days, today I am not running. No really, I promise (I think). I am going to go on a walk (if I have time) and do some abs, push-ups, and a few stride-outs. This will be good for me and also help me prepare for the busy busy next 2 days where we get pretty much no break and zero sleep. Sounds wonderful right? It’s all for the kids and for the Glory of the Lord, Andrea… hang in there!!

What is a dessert that NO MATTER WHAT you will eat and eat it all??

Thoughts on wrestling? (take this question as you will)

—I think pro wrestling is ridiculous, high school/college is legit, and girls wrestling for guys is Brilliant.

16 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I will eat a cookie that looks like that no matter what. Holy party in my mouth. Proud of you for that rest day! We can do it together!!!

    1. hahaha Love that you love it so much ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes the rest day went great! No anxiety attack at the meals even though we had an AMAZING chocolate pancake breakfast, buffalo chicken wraps with fries for lunch, and mexican night with all you can eat chips for dinner!! WOW.
      Thanks Sarah I am trying to catch up on your posts!!! i miss reading them every morning !!!!

  2. That cookie looks like pure heaven. Congrats for just letting yourself enjoy it! Life is WAY too short to stress over wonderful things like cookies ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy the rest of your camp!

    1. Thank you so much! I did enjoy it… I let myself have some bites and feel good about it! And oh my goodness it was honestly heaven in a pan…. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the comment and encouragement! Have a good night!

  3. Today is my rest day too, nothing wrong with taking a break. Think how good your run will feel tomorrow. I’m running a 10.8km race tomorrow (10.8km because the route is around a lake), wish me luck!

    1. haha i was like… hmm odd distance?? Good Luck!!! Rest day was needed and I actually did great with food today, so it was a win-win ๐Ÿ™‚

      That run around a lake sounds beautiful!! Enjoy every second of it please!!

  4. Um, yes, that cookie pie looks delish. And I would not exercise self control at all with that, which is typically how I am with any sweets. I can’t help myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t imagine keeping a busy schedule like that and still managing to get in longer ish runs. You are a super woman. Glad you’re talking things out with your dad and other girls there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. No not superwomen…. i have the WORST shin splits i have ever had!! can barley walk now!!!!! i tried to do too much ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      1. Oh no!!! Andrea!! I am so sorry!! Throw on compression and don’t take em off!

      2. so much pain!!! I will do everything I can to stop this pain!!

  5. I will eat and eat fruit salsa!
    And I can take or leave wrestling

    1. Yummmm!!! fruit salsa on everything!!

  6. It would be so lovely to run around that lake!! Enjoy your time there and eat some cookie for me!

  7. PS- I will eat dark chocolate no matter how “full” I am ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha GOOD answer!! always YES to dark chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. […] all blotchy and red. But what I didn’t know, was that combining the burn with my intense hill runs was causing fluid to get up under the muscle and fill in the cavity between my shin bone and muscle […]

Leave a Reply

