Y’all ‘s and Being Flexible

Hi y’all!

Yes, I said y’all. Turns out every one here is from the South and y’all is absolutely necessary to say. Let me tell you, it rubs off fast! I ain’t complain’ though… it’s actually pretty fun!

So I have been working my but off here. I am so so tired… but in a really great fulfilling type of way. But many, working on Staff at a Young Life camp is not for the faint of heart! Our day’s start early (which I love), but end late. Last night I didin’t even get back to the cabin to start thinking about bed until midnight. For those who know me or have been reading Morning Runner Girl for a while, I go to bed at about 9:30 or 10 everynight. So working to adjust my schedule and distribute my energy throughout the day in order to survive into the night is cruicial!

Last night we went so late because we were throwing the campers as AWESOME neon/blacklight party…. And the staff “had” to stay the whole time and dance (then clean up. Its what we do best). Man… bummer huh?? Haha Fun Fact—I LOVE TO DANCE. I will never complain about staying up late to dance.

During the day I am catching great rays as I worked the rope swing and the lifeguard chair all day. Can get boring and a bit nerve wrecking, but it is much better than being inside working the kitchen or snack shop or store. It is COLD up here in way way north Michigan. Summer definitely has not come yet for us. June is like March. Pretty much cold, with maybe some hit/miss days of warmish sun.

Screen shot 2013-06-10 at 7.17.37 AM

Now time for some Run Talk.

I have run Saturday morning (6.3 miles) and Sunday morning (6 miles). It is super hilly and takes so much out of me.  The only time I have to do it is first thing in the morning, and it is a little hard to convince myself to do it. I am so pooped after each day and only get about 6 hours (if I am lucky… ahhh girls can be so so loud and talk foreverrrr) that the last thing I want to do is get up and run. I thought about taking this morning (Monday) off… but I ended up doing a 4 miler. I just feel better, you know? And I can’t deny that the “food” aspect has a lot to do with that as well.

We eat LOTS AND LOTS here. And I have No idea how it is prepared. My guess is with loads of fat/oil/gross ingredients that end up making the food taste heavenly!! So yes, I like to have at least said I ran a bit before diving into the Chocolate Chip Pancakes yesterday for breakfast, the Southwest Chicken Buffalo Wraps for lunch, and the Mexican Enchilada for dinner. And of course all of these meals have wonderful delicious desserts. Bahhhh!

Monday they say is Day 3 of campers being here and they call it “The Longest Day of Your Life”. And it was seriously brutal. Big time. Busy from sun up to sun down. Hopefully it gets easier/more bearable!!!

Coffee is ESSENTIAL for survival. Thank goodness I freakin’ love it.

I hope you all are having a fantastic day! I miss reading your blogs!! SERIOUSLY!!! Please keep posting comments and I will get back with you when I can! Hang with me as I work may way through the next couple of weeks!!

Be lovely today and smile 🙂

13 comments

  1. Y’all rubbed off on me…and I say it now despite growing up in Chicago! Glad you’re having fun 😀 Stay sane, camp can be exhausting! I worked at an overnight camp last summer and we went 21 days straight (3 full camps) without a break and I was POOPED!

    1. ahhh that is how it is here!! 4 weeks straight with less than 24 hour camper turn around!!

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Awww you sound SO happy!!!! Glad to hear it girl! You’ll figure out a schedule that works for you. When you go home to your nutritionist she’s going to be so so so proud of you 🙂 I think you made an awesome decision to go to that camp.

    1. Thank you so much Sarah!! I kind of ran into some hard food issues just this past day… but overall i KNOW that this camp at this time is where I am supposed to be!!!

  3. This is going to be such a fun experience for you. It totally takes me back to the 5 summers I spent as a camp counselor in Maine (all through college). I met some amazing people and some of the best times of my life there. Make the most of it!!

    1. that sounds amazing!! Love camp life and other counselors! So glad you worked there throughout college!! Even at that age you can learn so so much from camp and campers!!!

  4. Haha I feel bad for my camp counselor … at the camp I went to we had to wake a counselor up if we had to go to the bathroom …. and I had to go 4 times! Oops *^.^*
    It’s awesome that you are running/having a good time! 😀

    1. you guys could ‘t go to the bathroom alone?!?! ahhh at least we don’t have that!! haha
      yes camp has been a busy blessing so far!

  5. Sounds like you’re having a great time! Long days are tough, but I’m sure the days are flying by being so busy. Have fun!! Hopefully you get some warmer weather soon 🙂

    1. Got some GREAT weather today! unfortunately got burnt as well!! Skin cancer is a scare for me so i will be sure to lather up from now on!!

  6. Good grief woman, that schedule sounds rough AND you’re still running? You are impressive like no other! I’m in the south, and can TOTALLY understand how easy it is to say y’all. I found myself doing it after a few months of living here. Ha, what can you do? It’s cute. Woo hoo for some yummy food, usually camp type food sucks. Keep up the good work lovely lady! Glad you checked in on the blog world!

    1. haha yes y’all is surprisingly addicting! it really is shorter to say than “you guys!”

      The running along with camp responsibilities has been tough and i am going to have to back off a bit i think!! gotta sleep some time too!!

  7. […] weekend by myself was the first time I have been without my parents support and/or at camp where everything was per-determined for […]

Leave a Reply

