It is Wonderful and NEW RUNS!

Favorite thing about new places?? NEW RUNS!!

I think all of us runners agree that the best way to see a new area is by running the streets/paths/trails/campus/etc… you really get a feel for your surroundings and what you will call “home” for the next while.

I am so excited to run through the camp this morning! Not sure how long or where to go, but I think it will be fun exploring! There seem to be lots of other runners here so maybe I can hook up with someone to run with in the mornings!

So far my worry about being “so old” here is completely and 100% unwarranted. I was silly to think that! I am loving all the people I am with so so much!!! Age don’t matter!! In fact, I hope I can be some kind of Help to many of them when they are trying to deal school problems, drinking/social situations, etc. Been there, Done that ya know??!

For me that is for the next month at Timber Wolf Lake in Michigan with the wonderful staff and campers of Young Life!! Read yesterday’s post HERE if you want more info!

You all were GREAT yesterday with advice for eating and keeping up with nutritional goals while here. I am trying to eat whatever is given to me, no “substitutions”. It is hard, not gonna lie, but I also see me doing so much better than if I would have been placed in this situation a few months ago!! And that is so cool to me ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your kind words and encouragement as always!

I can already tell you that I am going to be SUPER DUPER busy. I am exhausted already… so when I do post, they will be short n’ sweet! Hang with me guys, I promise that when I am back home on July 2 I will be back in full swing!

Another reason post’s my be few and far between, is because I am really here to work on my spiritual health. The bits of free time that I will have, I really want to spend praying and diving into my devotionals and spending time with Jesus. I never take the time for that at home any more because “life” gets in the way. Well Andrea, God must come first, and if you can’t put Him first while AT a Christian Camp, then that is REALLY where I need to focus my energy on. Spiritual Health trumps Personal Time.

That is all for now, going to dive into John 15:1-17 that we are trying to memorize as a staff team this month! It is the one all about Jesus as The Vine and we are The Branches and God is The Gardner. Awesome metaphors!

Do you have a favorite quote/bible verse/saying? I wanna hear it!!

First thing you do in a new place?

13 comments

  1. My favorite passage that I memorized and said to myself during my 1/2 marathons is Isaiah 40:28-32 where it talks about running not growing weary. But what I really loved about it is the verses beforehand talking about the character of God. That even though we grow weary, God never does. That HE gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.

    I hope camp is an amazing experience for you. Each time I see one of your posts or think of you, I’ll try to say a quick prayer for you–especially that God will reveal himself to you in a new and mighty way.

    1. Renee thank you so so much for sharing this and for your prayers! Isaiah 40 is definitely one of my favorite chapters. Such powerful descriptions of God!! I love when His power is revealed and we realize that we have nothing to fear… because God is SO MUCH GREATER than anything! So comforting!
      I hope you have a great great night! Thank you again for the prayers ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. pickyrunner · · Reply

    So happy to hear that you’re loving it already!!! Can’t wait for you to pop in, even for short updates. I know this is going to be so great for you and that spiritual health will be stronger than ever!

    1. YAY thanks girl!!! I will be popin from time to time ๐Ÿ™‚ And I have been really working hard at eating what is served!!! Thanks for the belief you have in me!!!

  3. Isaiah 40:31 (the verse actually made me become a Christian), Galatians 2:20, Ephesians 4:29
    I normally unpack first

    1. Awww yay I LOVE this passage too!! So cool that it such an impact on you becoming a Christian!! Congrats girl!! I love love love that!! Those other verses are so encouraging and great as well! Jesus is great ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    Glad you are having fun so far! Enjoy your time there ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you!!! Yes today was super busy/rainy/cold but so rewarding!

  5. megbek · · Reply

    Yay for exploring new areas as a runner, for sure the best ever! Do your thing girl, that’s what you’re there for! ๐Ÿ™‚ First thing I do in a new place is usually check out the hotel. I’m a brat like that. Have a great Monday!!

    1. haha love checking out hotels!! And of course the workout room mainly ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. There is absolutely no better way to experience a new place than running! Enjoy it!

    1. yayy i am!! thanks!!!

  7. […] think it was the hills. Remember how excited I got over the great hills here?? Ya…. I am eating my […]

Leave a Reply

