4 Weeks in Michigan–Excitments & Concerns!

I am not sure how much I have mentioned this, but I wanted to give a really quick update as to where I will be for the next month starting Today!!

I am working (volunteering) at a Young Life camp, Timber Wolf Lake, in Lake City,MI.

It is very very north, and will probably be very very cold… at least in the evenings ha

Some Excitement:

Young Life is a very very dear organization to me. It is my freshman year of High School while at a Young Life camp in Minnesota where I really came to know Christ and see people living out a life with God as their focus. I would look up to the staff members (like me this summer!!) and I was just so in awe of how they were funny, cool, smart, silly, wild, kind, nice, inclusive, excited, AND women of God! That was such a new concept to me! Most of the “Christians” I had interacted with were very low-key, very black-or-white in their thinking, and made me feel very uncomfortable and “wrong” if I let a curse word slip. The men and women of Young Life never once made me feel like that. All I ever felt was totally loved f0r being me.

So I left this morning at 3am to drive north to Timber Wolf Lake.

Some Concerns:

I am excited and nervous!! I am working with all college age kids… and even though I am only 23 with 1 year of grad school under my belt, I will still be the oldest their by a few years. I admit, part of me is nervous that I won’t “fit-in”! It is a silly thought, because I can talk to a wall and not have it be awkward haha…

I am also very concerned with the food situation. It is all family style dining, and I have absolutely ZERO control over what I eat. Sometimes the breakfast will be good with some eggs and sausage… other times it is just buttery french toast and cinnamon rolls.

When I worked at this camp (one in Minnesota) the summer after my freshman year of undergrad, I gained about 10 pounds at the camp. I am nervous this will happen again. But Andrea, I thought you were trying to gain weight?!?!ย Yes, but I do not want to do that will an eating style that is not a normal eating situation (Camp style eating is not a good indication of how my meals will look for the rest of my life haha) I really want to make sure I still pay attention to my Hunger Cues– Eat when hungry, stop when no-longer hungry.

I also am hoping to still get my runs in!! I am not sure how 24/7 my job will be… But Hopefully early in the morning or right before dinner I can get a quick run in!!

Have a great end to the week everyone! I really really hope to be able to keep updating pretty regularly! If not, hopefully I can still get in 3-4 posts per week! And if not… have no fear, I am still here thinking about all of you and will be back for good on July 2 !!

Have you ever heard of/been to Young Life?

Thoughts on Camp meals and how NOT to overeat?

What IS your favorite camp-y/picnic/cook-out style meal?

7 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    As crazy as this is, going to a camp like that with that kind of dining may be GOOD for you. I know you don’t want to eat like that forever but it’s a good way for you to learn to eat when you’re hungry and stop when you’re full. If the food is sitting there in front of you, it will be more challenging not to keep going back for more (or to not eat it at all) but this could be a really good way for you to focus on recovery. If I were you, I’d eat what everyone else is eating, and after you’ve had a normal portion of food, stop for a minute and reevaluate your stomach and hunger levels! I remember going to a camp like that in 2nd grade. I hated every second of it and sent my mom hate mail hahaha I was so homesick! And I ate nothing but bread and lettuce for 2 straight weeks because I was so picky. I was such a fun child to be around…

    1. Great advice and I definitely took it. they had lasagna last night for dinner. I was super nervous. But I took a big piece, ate it, and that was that!!

      haha on the bread and lettuce!!! Girl I was a wierd child right along with ya!!

  2. megbek · · Reply

    Good, you’ll be back just in time for my birthday! Haha. And the 4th of July, very important days! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay for going to work for a month! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited for you, and I hope you stay on top of your nutrition and health. I can’t imagine getting in runs while working as a counselor. That’s like an all day job and SO energy draining. Sarah gave you some good advice above…. ๐Ÿ™‚ Look forward to hearing how you do. What new running shoes did you get, woman!?

    1. BIRTHDAY TIME!!! I better be invited if there is a partay.

      Meals have been a nervous wreck for me so far… but i am powering through much better than i thought I would/could and much better than I would have a few moths ago!!! I will let you guys know how it goes!! THANKSSSSSS ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. […] Lake in Michigan with the wonderful staff and campers of Young Life!! Read yesterday’s post HERE if you want more […]

  4. What an amazing opportunity! Such a fantastic way to give to others and invest in the Kingdom of Heaven here on earth!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I will be praying for you as you navigate the dining hall………..don’t stress, you will have good days and bad days, and it will be a learning curve. Don’t be too hard on yourself, but believe me- you have more self control and and are stronger than you think! xoxo

    1. Thank you so so much! Prayers are just incredible and always appreciated!! I have learned so much about myself in just a few days and let go of some serious self control things that are making me stronger!!!

Leave a Reply

