The Run that Almost Wasn’t and The Running Quiz

Yesterday’s Run/Workout Recap

Because it was National Running Day yesterday, I knew I had to honor it. I am packing like a mad women to get ready for my 4 week gig in Michigan ((which I leave for tomorrow at 3am!!)) and I was starting to get in a very cranky mood. I needed endorphins STAT. My legs were tired just walking up stairs and I just wasn’t feeling it, but i forced myself to drive to the run (because once I am out that helps). I had in mind that even just doing 3-4 miles would be beneficial. I just wanted to get my sweat on.

The first few miles felt awful. No really… it felt like I had never run before. I was pissed. I had a crappy run on Tuesday night as well (only went 4 miles). Was I starting to get into a running rut??? I kept running anyways, and slowly I started to loosen up and find my stride. I so badly wanted to just head back to my car, but I forced myself to remember WHY I love to run and think about how THANKFUL I am that I have 2 legs that can move my entire body for long periods of times! Kinda incredible when you think about it…

So in honor of National Running Day, I got in 5.2 miles. I am counting it as a major feat because of how badly I wanted to stop after .1 miles. So yesterday was really a great mental-training day. Those are JUST as important as physical training!

Also yesterday I did a great little circuit strength/cardio workout that took me 20mins. I had a very very short amount of time before I had to rush to work and give a sweaty presentation ((I was dripping the whole time… but hey, my job is one promoting Corporate Wellness, so I figure I had to look the part of a sweaty workout addict, right?)) Anyways, here is what I did–

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 6.14.23 AM

Your arms are shaking by the end… and it really is the push ups in between each movement that leaves you hating life. Awesome 🙂

The Running Quiz

Because I so Loved The Hungry Runner Girl’s quiz that she put together yesterday as yet another way to celebrate National Running Day, I decided to answer some of the questions as well so YOU get to know me better as a runner!!! Then once you see all the things we have in common… We can go on lots and lots of run’s together! ((Because I am so lonely/tired of running on my own!!))

1.  On average how many races do you run a year?

This past year I was able to get in about 6 races just in the fall time alone!! And for 2013, I have done 5 or 6 (lost count) already with many more I am signed up for! I used to me so so nervous for races… but now I totally see them as my fun time!! So I literally just want to sign up for as many and all that I can! I wish I were made of money…

2.  Head accessories, things you have to run with:  a hat, a visor, sunglasses, chapstick, sunscreen, head band, ponytail, braids, sweat band?

ALWAYS have a head band on. Cannot imagine running without one. Also, french braid. Pony tails are too heavy and bouncy for me. I never run in a hat. I can’t imagine that… and only on very few occasions do I run in sunglasses. I MUST have chapstick on.. nothing is worse than dry lips! And if there is ONE THING ON A RUN I CANNOT GO WITHOUT… it is gum. I have turned around for home to get a piece, bought a pack right then and there, borrow from complete strangers… MUST.HAVE.GUM.

3.  Where do your workouts come from?  A training plan, a coach, whatever you feel like doing that day or what your training partner is doing that day?

I make them up on the spot. Totally depending on how I feel. For my Richmond Marathon in November I am hoping to follow a running plan for the first time (which means being ‘told’ what to do) I am excited/weary of how that will go! I obviously had a XC coach in high school.. but have not had one since! I would LOVE to hire a coach!

4.  How many miles on average do you put on a pair of shoes?

I have never counted miles. I go by months mainly. That and how bad the tendonitis in my ankle is flaring up. If very painful, time for new shoes!! Super scientific of me, huh?!

5.  Cell phone=  do you bring it with you on your run or leave it at home?

Have never run with a cell phone. I can’t imagine having that big bulky thing.

6.  What was your last running related injury or have you been an injury free runner?

SERIOUS running injury was my stress fracture in m femur 3 years ago… and my hip displasia I got right after my Marine Corps Marathon in the fall of 2011. Then of course there are the little nagging things… like occasional runners knee and tendonitis…

7.  Is your current running goal about running a farther distance (adding more mileage) or getting faster or BOTH?!?

Both!!! I want to get faster AND go further! I would love to PR the Richmond Marathon!!!!

8.  Speedwork—->  at the track, on the treadmill, on the roads or never do it?

I find speedwork “easier to get done” if on a treadmill, but the workout is much much harder if I do it outside. And the worst is on a track. I don’t do near enough speed workout… really should get on that…

9.  Stretching after a run:  hit the ground after a run and get stretching, stretch in the shower, stretch once you get to work/school, skip the stretching?

This has been my #1 focus– making sure I take the time to stretch!!! Getting better at it, but I still have such poor time management that I jump straight into the car after a run and get all tight.

10.  What was your reason(S) for starting to run?

I started running when I was in 4th grade because my sister did it and I thought she was the coolest thing in the world!! (Don’t all little sisters think that of their big sisters??) Then in 6th grade i discovered I really liked it.. and I wasn’t half bad!! Stuck with it to keep in shape for soccer (my #1 love at the time), then in high school eventually quit soccer all together for running!! Best Decision Ever!!

Go ahead and Answer these questions for your own blog!!! They are fun and short 🙂

Tell me your weekend plans!!!

I am getting new running shoes today and Have never tried a different pair other than my New Balance. Do you guys try to shoes, or find ones you love and stick to those?

13 comments

  1. I don’t really have too many plans this weekend! I’m going out tonight and volunteering with Surfers for Autism on Saturday! So excited!! I went to a running shop to get these shows and picked from their availability based on my gait analysis. I got Saucony Progrids (?) and they’re good, but I’m not in LOVE with them.

  2. Yay for a great run!! Way to fight the mental battle 🙂

    1. Thanks girl! and congrats on your Zumba class!!! Wish i could come to one!

  3. I have your same obsession with chewing gum while running. It’s an absolutely essential prerequisite!!
    Looks like a fantastic arm workout- can’t wait to try it sometime!

    1. Yes arms were DEAD!!! give it a shot!! And glad you understand my gum obsession 🙂

  4. I started running to keep in shape for soccer too…and then quit soccer for running 🙂

    I mostly tend to stick with a pair of shoes that work…but the ones that used to work don’t anymore (they made the toe box narrower 😦 ) so I’ve been trying different ones.

    1. yay for ex-soccer players!!
      I hate when they change shoes so much ((different arches, different amt of cushioning…)) I just keep re-ordering the same style and size!!

  5. This weekend I am going to go for my longest *intentional* run; 4 miles!

    I haven’t been running very long, but I’ll probably skip around a bit to see what I like. Right now I have the Nike Lunarglide 4’s and they are awesome!

    1. yeaaaa get it girl!!! You are well on your way to that Half! Keep it up!

  6. megbek · · Reply

    Nice job pushing through on that run lady face! I can’t say I would have done the same…. I love this quiz!!! And all your answers. SO JEALOUS YOU’RE GETTING NEW SHOES. I want some SO badly. It’s like, basically, all I can think about everyday all day. It’s consuming. I just can’t justify a new pair without putting more miles on my current shoe-sies. UGH! LUCKY! Have fun picking some out. 🙂 🙂

    1. Just brought them home!!! 135$ later… ((oh my gosh can’t even think about that)) and i am PUMPED to put them to the test!!!

      Maybe new shoes will encourage more running…?? haha that is what I would tell myself in order to go get a pair! 🙂

      1. megbek · ·

        which ones did you get!?

      2. New Balance 1080V3 — LOVE THEM!!!!

Leave a Reply

