Healthy Food Thoughts and LOTS of Pic’s!!

I will do another bolded heading post for you guys to follow…. thoughts are everywhere this morning! Many pictures at the end!!

Running and Raining

Part of me hopes it is raining… part of me hopes it is not.

If it is raining, I can convince myself to push back my run later in the day and continue with my lazy, coffee filled, peanut-butter jar licking morning.

If it is not raining, then I have no good excuse not to run.

****added note: by the end of writing this post this morning, it was still raining. That run did not happen… hopefully later today!****

wpid-Screenshot_2013-05-31-09-09-33.png

Raining and My Hair

It has been raining for the last 3ish days. Super fun! (sarcasm). My hair which is already a wavy/curly/frizzy mess just does NOT do well in these conditions. Way too humid here in Indiana. Want to know where my hair is at its best? Just so happens to be out west–specifically Denver, Salt Lake City, and St. George. Isn’t that convenient?! Just one more reason to make sure that in 1.5 years, my move to the more-awesome side of the country actually happens. ((I have no doubt it will. This has been my dream/goal since I first put on a pair of ski’s at the age of 8 at Keystone, CO)).

Coffee Addiction

I have a new coffee flavor LOVE– Karma Caramel Chameleon from Fresh Market (on sale of course):

wpid-IMG_20130601_061344.jpg

Nutritionist/Therapist Excitement!

My meeting with Heather (nutritionist) is today! My eating habits the last few days have been all over the place!! I can’t wait to hear what she has to say… then DO IT! I take direction’s very well. I actually LOVE being told what to do or following through with things. I always have. I very much considered the Naval Academy for undergrad because I like order, schedule’s, and rules so much. I know that whatever eating plan/goals that Heather gives me, I will follow.

Father/Daughter Food Talks

I had a GREAT truthful heart-to-heart with my dad a few nights ago about my eating and seeing Heather. I am slowly revealing more and more about just how “deeply-rooted” these negative, destructive, food thoughts have taken root and just how much work it will take to change them. We were at a family friends High School Graduation Party (goodness I felt old) and apparently that just happened to be the time and place God set up for us to talk!!

I told him Heather wanted me to also see a therapist. I thought he would write that off and say “You don’t need something as serious as that…right??” But he just nodded and said, “I think we should do whatever Heather recommends and whatever you are comfortable with.”Wow. Do I have a great Dad or what?

I also told him I was concerned over gaining weight and “looking fat”. I said I was so sorry that I wasn’t stronger and more secure in my body image… but I was nervous about what the extra 10-15 pounds would look like. He said something that meant sooo much to me. ((side note: all my weight loss happened when I studied in New Zealand spring of 2011. I came home 25 lbs lighter. Since then I have lost up to another 20 lbs that I definitely did not need to lose. That was at my lowest and since I have gained some back.)) My dad knew that I currently weight less than I did summer of 2011 after NZ, and He said “Honey, when you came home, I  had never seen you look more beautiful”. My dad doesn’t usually talk to me like that. All sentimental and all.

My “healthier” Time (in Pictures)

I looked back at pictures. He was right. I had a fuller face, wider hips…but mostly it was the “life” that I had. My hair was much blonder/thicker, skin color was vibrant…When I got home from NZ we went on a family vacation to Germany/Austria/Switzerland. Here are some pictures–

DSCN3260 image127 image432 IMG_7092 IMG_7118 image519

In all of these pictures, I am about 12 lbs heavier than I am now. Looking at these, I am just fine if I am at that weight again. I think I look very healthy in all of these pictures. –Key word being Healthy…. that is what I am striving for (rather than weight gain) after all.

Please have a FANTASTIC week 🙂

What does everyone’s week ahead look like? Tell 1 thing you are excited for or dreading!!

How is the weather in your neck-of-the-woods?

PLEASE tell me your running workout or fitness workout for the weekend went!

10 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I can’t wait to hear how your appointment goes! It’s amazing how understanding parents can be when we least expect it. I’m glad you were able to really connect well with your dad!

    1. Yes can’t wait to tell you about it!! I am definitely nervous/excited here! haha
      And I feel very lucky to have the parents I do… but even then they can surprise you! 🙂

  2. So excited to hear about your appointment! So happy that you and your dad had that conversation and that it went well. You are gorgeous and getting healthy is so important! The weather here has been rainy/thunderstormy, but this morning it was hot and sunny. This weekend, I did speed work on Saturday and hill work yesterday. I have a chest infection, so everything’s been much slower/stopping breaks to hack stuff up (yum, TMI, right?), but it feels good to move.

    1. Props to you on doing speed work! Very impressive… so hard for me to get a speed workout done!! Definitely mental challenge!
      Take it easy on that cold girl!!!! But i agree if feels good to sweat out an illness sometimes 🙂
      Feel better!!!

  3. megbek · · Reply

    I hope it stops raining for you! Ugh. I HATE, LOATHE running in the rain. It is seriously the worst way to run, for me. I don’t mind it as much if it’s warm ish outside, but dang, when it’s cold + rainy? I will never run. I am likely sitting down pouting in a puddle if it starts to rain while I’m on a run. My maturity levels fluctuate. 🙂
    Good luck today, I can’t wait to hear how it goes! So glad you have a supportive family. That makes all the difference in the world! Those are some adorbz pics at the bottom!!

    1. Yes cold+rain=me sitting at home with a warm cup of coffee. haha
      I can’t wait to tell you guys about the appointment today… not sure what to expect or what we will do since it is the first one, but so pumped to get it going!
      And yes, my family is amazing and adorable and I love being with them 🙂

      have a great dayyyyy 🙂

  4. I actually like running in the rain, but only if it’s warm out…nobody likes cold rain! haha
    Good luck with the nutritionist today! It’s going to be great!!

    1. Cold rain is honestly the worst combo for me. (throw wind in there and you would have to pay me to go on a run…)
      Thanks for the Luck! I can’t wait to find out more about what the next few months will look like and what she has planned for us!!

      Have a great day!!

  5. I’m with you – I do better with my eating, when someone lays it out before me. Good luck at your appointment today. I ran my 2nd 1/2 marathon yesterday – didn’t quite reach my goal, but improved my time by just over 9min!

    1. WOW!!!! a 9min PR!!! That is insane! Even if you were a litttle off of your goal, be super proud of that time!!!
      I love hearing about improvements! I hope you had fun!? that is the most important so you can keep running them for years!!

      I am so excited to tell you guys how the meetng went today 🙂 look for a recap in the next couple days!

Leave a Reply

