We are Our own Worst Enemies.

“But what bothers us most, or at least ought to bother us most, is the enemy within ourselves. We are our own worst enemy. The sin that lurks within us, that rears its ugly head in our lives, and that devours anyone in our way…” —WELLS Daily Devotion (May 27 2013).

I get a Daily Devotion emailed to me every morning. They are fantastic. They are short, quick to read, and always provide some nice “thoughts” in which to start my day with.

I immediately related with the start of this devotion, and I wanted to share with you guys since we (most of us living an active lifestyle) all have a bit of competitiveness in us.ย  I think this is a good thing. Society without a competitive drive would never get anywhere. People would never try and improve if it werent for our inherent nature to be better.

But that also means that many times, we demand too much from ourselves. We become sad/angry/upset when we don’t perform at our best. We are harder on ourselves than anyone else is on us. Our own expectations for ourselves are greater than anyone else’s.

We need to be aware of this and be careful that we do not let our inner weaknesses overcome us. We should never measure ourselves up to anyone or anything. Only God has the ability to “judge”, and I can tell you that He loves us at our absolute worst/weakest/awful moments in life.

So lets practice not being so hard on ourselves… lets not be our own worst enemy…

Enjoy the day my friends ๐Ÿ™‚

Does anyone receive/read devotions that they would like to share?

It is June!! What was your favorite thing you want to be SURE to do this month?

18 comments

  1. I have the YouVersion app for my iPod and I am reading the Bible in a Year plan ๐Ÿ™‚
    I really want to make sure that I am starting my training for a half marathon on time ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. aww I have that app too!!

      Great goal girl!! Stick with it and you will absolutely make it through AND have fun on your Half!! Way to go!

  2. This touched my heart this morning. Thank you for spreading encouragement! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Never hurts to remind us to be gentle on ourselves ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a GREAT Sunday!!

      1. Thank you! You too! Xoxo

  3. Thank you for sharing this! Such a a great reminder. We need to be kind to everyone, and that starts with being kind to ourselves! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. So true!! Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚ Do something that makes you smile!

  4. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Well said. I’m absolutely my own worst enemy and my parents are constantly reminding me of that. Instead of treating others the way we would want to be treated, we should treat ourselves the way we treat others. I know for me personally I treat others much better than myself.

    1. Yes! Me too! For some reason I always just think I don’t deserve to be treated well…at least by my own self. I would much rather shower it on others. But as many people have pointed out in their comments… we have to Love ourselves first to REALLY love others.
      Have a GREAT day ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love this quote! It makes you think and I love that ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. haha I am all about Sunday afternoon Hard Thinker’s ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Great quote! And great reminder that we could all be a little nicer to ourselves sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. absolutely!! We need to LOVE ourselves!! We do so much to bring ourselves down… usually without realizing it!!

  7. PS- I just joined the running bloggers ๐Ÿ™‚ yay for an awesome community!

    1. oh YAY!!! I just joined a few days ago!! exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Awesome! I’m excited for us!

  8. Great morning devotion! I truly agree with it. While it’s good to push yourself, you must also know when to stop and just be nice to yourself!

    1. Exactly! listen to our bodies and hearts and be kind like we would be to others!!

Leave a Reply

