How to Do It when You Just Don’t Feel Like It.

How to Do It when You Just Don’t Feel Like It…

Get your minds out of the gutter people… I am talking about running here!

So many times we have plans in our day for a great run, then we finally get around to it, and it sucks. Or more likely, we suck. I can’t tell you how many times I have stopped a run (or any workout) after 5 minutes, telling myself that I will “try again later”.Β  Sometimes that later never happens… but I am getting better and better at actually following up on this “later” promise.Β  But I have to fool myself. I have to some how change the workout that I had scheduled so I don’t feel as if I am setting myself up for failure again.

Today was one of those days. I had plans to running early this morning then go to a Fusion class (Fusion is the wonderful combo of cardio and strength). Well, I decided that I would run late in the afternoon in between some work presentations.Β  I did go to the Fusion class though and it was WONDERFUL, as always! But the run on the other….

My plan was to run at 3pm. I laced up, headed out, and promptly turned for a total of a .5 mile run. Yay, go me. I just wasn’t feelin it. I instead devoured a bag of pretzels, and yet another apple and pear. Yumm. As I was sitting and digesting, I realized my body was seriously craving a run and I just had to find away to give it what it wanted. But I had to trick my mind, because everything in my head screamed no.

At 4:30pm, only 1.5 hrs after my failed attempt, I threw all my running gear into the car and headed to the gym It was time for a treadmill workout. On a treadmill, I can zone out on the t.v, set a pace, and stick with it. I told myself I could slow it down at any time, get off and go to the bathroom at any time, change it to an inclined speed walk if I want to… endless possibilities. So just get on the treadmill and go.

Here is what my workout looked like:

Total Time= 45min Total Miles= 6.3 Incline= 1%

15min @ 8.0 speed (7:30 pace)

For the next 30min, I increased the speed by 1.0 every 3 mins (to end up minutes 42-45 @ 9.0)

*I felt great and ended up running the last 5 mins at 9.5-10.5 speed

I love when we are able to surprise ourselves with a great workout!! I felt really good and so so proud of myself for sticking with it and doing SOMETHING when my mind and body were giving me different signals.

So often, just trying a different form of a workout is enough to get in the sweat we need.

Then again…sometimes, it really does just suck. And there ain’t a thing we can do about it, except to push through it or go home and eat (which is also a great option).

What do you guys do when a workout doesn’t go as planned?

Thoughts on treadmills….? Love ’em? Hate ’em? Do you put it at an incline?

11 comments

  1. I’m not a fan of treadmills. Ho matter how much I love running- treadmills just do NOT do it for me. I always run on at least 2% incline, sometimes 3 or 4.

    1. I agree that whenever I can help it, I never use treadmills ((usually it is if I am in a hotel room in the winter and no safe running routes)) But it really did come in handy yesterday in making me at least get some kind of workout in…mind games! That was the first time I have run on a treadmill in probably 2 years!! haha

      I wasn’t sure what to set the incline on– 3-4% would definitely make it better/more fun/harder. Next time!!

  2. I completely loathe treadmills….you couldn’t get me on one if you paid me. haha. I do run in basically all weather conditions to avoid it as well…rain, blizzard, freezing cold. The one i can’t stand though is heat – that’s probably the only time I am forced to get on the mill.

    1. haha Yes it is definitely not my go-to by any means!! But I have discovered it is useful when other options are exhausted!! haha be careful with those blizzard runs girl!!! wow! you be hard core!

  3. I’m not a big treadmill fan… but I’ve been trying it more often..usually for speed work. It gets incredibly hot/humid very early here in FL so sometimes the treadmill is the only option.

    Usually I just try to trudge through a workout if I’m not feeling it because I know I will always feel better if I do it. Other times I’ll just take a break from running (1-2 days) so that my body actually wants to run! I haven’t run much this week because my weights class has made me really sore, but I’m going to go to spinning today and then might go for a run a little later, if possible. I miss running.

    1. i defnitely go through cycles of running weeks and weight-intensive weeks. When I am in one, i miss the other, and visa versa! weights are soo great though! Glad you are feeling the effects!! πŸ™‚

  4. I do not like treadmills, but I am beginning to tolerate them better. I usually do 7.0 pace and increase to 7.5. Your strategy is pretty good. I am going to try tomorrow!

    1. ya “toleration” is probably the category I am in. I try not to use them, but if I need to I can handle it for a run or two. Ya i find it is soo much better when you get to constantly change the speed. goes by so much quicker!!

  5. […] hearing some treadmill feedback from my workout last Friday I decided that I should be doing TM runs at a great incline than the 1% I had been doing. So I set […]

  6. […] and slightly faster than I wanted to, and my legs were definitely not too happy with me. I ran a hard treadmill run on Thursday, tempo outside on Saturday, hard inclined treadmill on Sunday, and then last nights run. They were […]

  7. […] in running, I have mentioned before that we sometimes have to Trick ourselves. And sometimes this goes past “tricking” and […]

Leave a Reply

