Best. Trip. Ever.

I am home from what was one of the best trips/weeks EVER. Red Mountain Resort in St. George, Utah is everything that I hoped it would be! I arrived home this morning at 1am and woke up thoroughly confused and mad that there were no mountains surrounding me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ A girl can get spoiled FAST! All I want is a mountain range every day… I mean is that too hard to ask for? I don’t think so.
But I did wake up to discover that Daddio and I got to be twins all day ๐Ÿ™‚

image

I will try to quickly give a recap of the trip. And I say “quickly” because I honestly could fill 20 posts with how amazing this vacation was, but I am pretty sure you will not read it/don’t care. Thus, recapping.

First off, we had beautiful weather every day. Gorgeous. Red Mountain Spa is nestled at the foot of Snow Canyon in St. George and is basically all Red Rock, making it contrast perfectly with blue sky and white clouds.

This was an adventure spa, so my mom and I were up every morning at 6am, grabbed a HUGE breakfast from the incredible FREE breakfast buffet (I always over ate…) then set off on the Endurance Hike. Red Mountain has 3 levels of hikes– Easy, Challenge, and Endurance. Obviously, mom and I chose Endurance ๐Ÿ™‚ And let me tell you– they really mean Endurance. Every morning was 7+ miles of trailing running, bouldering, sand-dune climbing, and general climbing/scrambling/hiking. Total body exhaustion! So great! Running with packs and boots on through sand, over boulders, up/down rocky terrain was the most awesome bad-a$$ feeling in the world! Our guide, “Gene The Machine” was basically a drill-Sargent. I love that kind of attitude ๐Ÿ™‚

After the hike, we would hit up “Second Breakfast” (exactly like the first…except even more food).
Then I would head to a gentle yoga class, chi-ball stretching, foam rolling, or pilates class. This was then followed by an amazing lunch Buffet! I was never hungry for lunch after 2 huge breakfasts, but Hey- This girl don’t turn down Buffets. You feel me?

For 2 of the days, after lunch we did a 27 mile bike ride or an INTENSE mountain bike ride with a guide. I have never had so much fun as I did mountain biking! I really had to learn to trust my bike! It was scary at first, going over boulders, rocks that I though for sure would kill me, at speeds that I couldn’t even risk blinking! The thrill was totally intoxicating!!

On the days we did not bike, we did a few fitness classes of Cardio Strength, Kickboxing, Sports Conditioning,etc. Or I got a run in ๐Ÿ™‚

We did allow a few hours after working out to read/hot tub, but dinner soon came ((delicious)) followed closely by SLEEP!!! Then, we would wake up and do it all again!

Many people stare at me when I tell them about this Fantastic vacation, wondering how I found this total Body Beating “fun”… but of course I was absolutely obsessed! I love active Go, Go, Go vacay’s!

The last thing my mom and I hit up was a night at Zion National Park. WOW. No words for this devastating beauty. It is truly the magnificent creation of God!!
My mom and I slept it until 6:15am and quickly gobbled apples and Cliff bars and set out to hike the famous Angels Landing. If you have never heard of this hike, it is extremely technical. You peak thousands of feet up a sheer cliff, using chains to hold on to shimmy across the ledge. It was a total RUSH. Seriously though, one wrong move, and…. ya. See Ya.

The trip was so so so amazing (right up there with my all-out ski vacations) and I can not wait to be back! My body though is entirely shot. Like… everything hurts. I need like 3 days of solid NOTHING. No abs, no push ups, no long walks, no weights, no running… of course I doubt I do this… but I am really really going to try!!

I found myself RAVENOUS today. I ate and ate and ate. And that is ok… I think my body is just tired, happy to not work out today, and taking advantage of the down time and stocking up on TONS OF FUEL (aka food).

Tomorrow, I starting work at 4:30am and will not be home until after 6pm. Long day to say the least… but I am being paid for every second of it ๐Ÿ™‚

A few pics to post (all on other camera) but here is mom, me and our view! so great!

image

image

image

And we of COURSE stopped at the St. George Costco. Crazy busy Saturday afternoon! Didn’t buy anything (on way to airport) but we did manage a great lunch from all the samples! Favorite was FOR SURE the Cinnamon Buckwheat Pancakes. OhMeeGeeeee.

image

How was everyone’s weekend? Any Races?

Every been to St. George or an Adventure Spa?

14 comments

  1. eringorun · · Reply

    This sounds incredible! After our recent active vaca, I am already craving another. May have to give Utah a go!

    1. YES absolutely! Any active person ((who also knows how to be pampered!)) would just love love love this vacation! highly recommend it! Let me know if you need/want any more information!

      1. eringorun · ·

        Definitely! Utah has officially been added to “the list!”

  2. I’m so glad you had a great vacation! I love that your mom is active and that you can do things together! That’s so great ๐Ÿ˜€ My weekend was really relaxing, no races..although I was tempted to sign up for one last minute. I’ve never been to an adventure spa (actually never heard of one), but it’s something I would love to try!

    1. Having a mom that literally kick’s the butt of man of my friends is freaking amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ we have so much fun together! I am blessed with a very active family and thus our vacations are usually action packed! just the way I like them!

  3. Looks like you had a blast!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ So fun! I race the 25k US Road Champs in Grand Rapids, MI. I loved it!! Now, I’m relaxing for a few weeks ๐Ÿ™‚ God gave me strength to finish my season strong! So glad you had fun!

    1. yayy!!!! So glad you finished strong! No matter what the “ups-and-downs” of the season are, finishing on a good note just gives me so much hope/strength for the future! I love your faith in God and your passion you express through running that He has given you!! Makes me so comforted and happy! Have a great couple days off! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. megbek · · Reply

    So glad you had an amazing vacation – including a 6 minute plank, WHAT!!! amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never been to Utah or even a resort and now I am dying… Cute picture of your mama and the one of you and your dad! ๐Ÿ™‚ Matching with the parents is quite fun! Yikes, can’t ever imagine a day starting at 4:30. Good luck my dear!

    1. haha thanks!! I always felt weird asking people to take a picture of me, so the really awkward selfies are all you guys will ever get to see of me!

  5. […] I already broke my no-weighing pledge, might as well weigh myself again”. So I did. Then at Red Mountain Resort in Utah, I weighed myself all the time. Now at home, the scale hiding under my bed is being pulled out more […]

  6. […] want to do the St. George, UT Ironman next May! I loved it there for my adventure spa a few weeks ago (seriously want to get a job there) and I would love nothing more than to […]

  7. […] -Hiking. Hands down. ((re: Utah trip)) […]

  8. […] Nast, an outdoor adventure company like Backroads, VBT, or NOLS, a white-water rafting company, Red Mountain Spa (where I was this May!) or New Balance/Brooks running companies. And, now that I think about it, […]

Leave a Reply

