Indy Half Race Recap!

I only have “pre-race” pictures, because it would have taken a Miracle for my dad to find me out on the course of the Largest Half-Marathon in the country and get a decent photo. So only the Before shots ๐Ÿ™‚

First of all, I didn’t know I was running until last weekend. I bought the ticket off of a friend for an extremely reasonable price– $20. Are you kidding me?!?! I was so pumped.

I have done this race in the past but it is soooo crowded that lately I have been avoiding it. But I was totally in the mood to be around thousands of other runners, and figured I was planning on doing an 11-12 mile run on Saturday anyways, so what the Hey?

My dad (who is my #1 running buddy/fan) took me and stayed with me at the start line so I could throw off my jacket. What a guy, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

image

After the longest 2 weeks of my life (finals) and the most terrifying sleep of my life (on the couch, alone, at someone else’s house) I was as tired as this picture makes me look. Can we talk about those eye-bags?

image

I ran as Annie ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoyed running under a different name, because I had no desire to “race” this.ย  I wanted to have fun, enjoy the Saturday, enjoy being around other runners, and just get my legs moving.ย  With no PR on the horizon or even a decent time to hit, I have to admit I was glad that this race would not be recorded under ‘Andrea’. Silly of me to think about (why should I care what others think of my race performance?) but I did.

image

This is my dad’s signature Running Man pose. We have been doing this “pose” to each other as ‘Good Luck’ for as long as I can remember. And not just for races. Before an exam, interview, going out of town, going to Costco… really any reason. It is just another way we say “Love You!”

I was actually pretty pleased with the race!! Since I had no expectations, I had no pressure! Loved it. I started waaaay back in Corral H (it goes to Z) and it took me 10 minutes to get to the start line after the gun went off. So I literally spent the first 7 miles trying to get around people. It never cleared out, but after 7 miles I at least didn’t have to stop, reverse, and go around people. I must have added at least 1 extra mile in traversing across the road.

But I finished in 1:31.15 and some how ended up as the 40th women! I was pretty pleased with this! And it made me feel even better knowing I wasn’t racing it, started in the back, and had to get around so many people. Made me feel good ๐Ÿ™‚

It was perfect racing weather. Very little wind (except the last mile, gusts out of no where), temps in the 50’s, and cloudy (so no sunglasses/glare).

My next race is in 2 weekend, The Geist Half-Marathon. A hilly course, but one that I am very excited for!

Meanwhile, I am packing to leave at 5am tomorrow for Red Mountain Spa in St. George, Utah!! Could not be more excited!! I will post as I can, but honestly it won’t be a huge priority. I plan on relaxing!

Although I will have studying to do–no not for school, but for the internship I have starting 2 days after I get back. I can’t wait to tell you guys about it! Here is a sneak peak as to what it entailsAssisting the Head Exercise Physiologist at Bicycle Garage Indy in implementing their Health and Wellness Program to Corporations throughout Indiana.

How was the weekend? Any racing/good workouts?

What is your favorite vacation? Beach, skiing, mountains, big-city, spa….?

6 comments

  1. Races without expectations are kinda fun. I ran a 1/2 this morning–first race since my baby was born 6 months ago. I exceeded my expectations which was fun and now I’m feeling motivated to get faster again.

  2. You are SPEEDY! You go girl ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m glad you had a great race! My favorite vacations involve the beach..which is funny because I live by the beach. So… I basically just love the beach ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. You are soooo speedy!! Congrats on an amazing race girl! You rocked it!

  4. megbek · · Reply

    That is a phenomenal race time! Congratulations – when you weren’t really even shooting for it! That’s the best feeling! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ That sounds like quite the fascinating internship, can’t wait to hear more about it. Enjoy your time away in a spa – stay away from technology pretty lady!

  5. […] like a few weeks ago… or a few months ago even when I was running lots of half’s and hitting some decent times, I was in better shape. And now, on my quest for “healthy-ness” I feel more out of […]

Leave a Reply

