Top-less Dishes and Double dipping in the PB jar

I am heading home today, and it occurred to me that I will be sharing my living space with 2 other people.  Guys, I have lived alone for the last (almost) year here at school. Yep, there are some things I am going to have to change.

Lets get right down to it-

1. No more dipping my finger in the peanut butter jar, licking it off, then dipping again. (And yes, sometimes there is a 3rd or 4th re-dip in there).

2. No more top-less kitchen cleaning. Wait Andrea, What?!? On the really hot days when I am sweating at all hours and I am waaay to cheap to turn on my AC, I admit- I sometimes do “top-less dishes”.  (When I say top-less, I mean top-less). I am not embarrassed in slightest. I get so sweaty cleaning my kitchen, being elbow deep in hot soapy water, that clothes come off. Anyways, no more of that. Darn.

3. Quick swig’s out of the Almond Milk jug. Self-explanatory. Why dirty a cup?

4. No more loudly jamming to early more pump-up songs before leaving for workout. I guess not everyone gets up at 5:30 every morning… I should really learn to be respectful of this– or maybe they are secretly looking for a reason to rise with the sun and start a workout? 🙂

5. No more Sole Control of the Remote. This is very serious guys… I may have to compromise every now and then on my TV shows.

6. No more singing at the top of my lungs.  I am a BAD singer. Always have been, always will be.  But I like to sing as if I am Brilliant.  I belt it out, “hit” all those high notes… I will spare my family and resist from doing this.

But there are also some very good things about moving back in with the Parents this summer and have some “company” in the casa again…

1. Normal, Balanced Meals. So very Important for me at this stage in my life right now. My dad is a GREAT healthy cook and fellow runner. He will make sure I eat well 🙂

2. No more talking to myself! Ok, so I still will probably mumble aloud… but those long convo’s to inanimate objects or my stuffed animals can now be directly at things with a heart-beat.

3. Parents got the Money yo! I never, ever take advantage of my parents when it comes to money. I am extremely grateful whenever they volunteer to pay for anything, but I never assume that they will either. Being home, however, will natural provoke my mom and dad to splurge on me every now and then…“No Honey, Please let me buy you $140 running shoes” awww gee thanks 🙂

4. COSTCO. All day, ‘ery day. No words to express this excitement.

5. The older I get, the more and more I appreciate and realize what a GEM family time is. I will never regret the time I get to spend with them.  As we get older and I someday (finally) grow up, get married, and have my own family, these moments with my parents will be fewer and fewer…. I am taking advantage of this while I can!

What are your favorite things about Living alone?

Favorite things about living with others?

What do you do to stay cool on really hot days??

 

11 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    I love relinquishing control over to my parents when I’m home. I don’t have to worry or obsess about what to make because I know they’re making me a balanced meal that I’m going to enjoy. Less stress around food which is always a good thing. I have to say I burst out laughing about the topless cooking. Hey, whatever works for you girl!

    1. Yes TOTALLY relinquishing control! I hope to also help my dad make dinner since I discovered i love to cook 🙂

  2. Runner Girl Eats · · Reply

    I love being able to wake up super early and not tip toe around the house. I also clean in next to nothing during the summer months. Scrubbing the bathroom is serious cardio!

    1. Oh I feel ya on that one… bathroom scrubbing for sure counts as a day’s cardio. Especially if you do multiple bathrooms….

  3. your living alone habits are wonderful!!! i do some of them and i don’t live alone, so at least you’re courteous enough to your future living buddies! kudos! Being with your parents definitely has those wonderful financial benefits, that’s so exciting! COSTCO! Right there with ya lady! Have a wonderful weekend!!!

    1. LOVE meeting fellow costco lovers!! I could live any where in the world as long as there was a costco within a reasonable distance…. haha you are lucky to find a living buddy in support of those things! Thats a true friend right there!!! have a great friday and a great weekend!!

  4. Amanda · · Reply

    Hahaha the thought of topless dishes is hysterical. I’ve always lived with roommates and currently live with my parents, so I’m curious what my weird habits would be. But yeah, living with my parents has been pretty good financially, and family time really is so important.

    1. Family time is so wonderful!! Glad you are able to enjoy it!! And if you ever do live alone and find yourself a little sweaty while cleaning… maybe give the old “topless-dishes” routine a try haha 🙂

  5. I LOVE LIVING ALONE! Being pants-less or top-less is my favorite. My best friends actually send me texts that say “we’re coming over, but you don’t have to put pants on if you don’t want.” BFFs there. I also love that I can be as loud as I want or as quiet as I want and have no one question it!

    I like living with others for the safety aspect of it. I also like living with others for the laughs that come along with it (assuming you get along with your roomies).

  6. olivetorun · · Reply

    This is hysterical! I loved #s 1 and 2 in the first part. I use to love living alone and rarely wore pants… for real. I would have underwear on but no pants and I loved every second of it.

    1. LOVE this 🙂

Leave a Reply

