So I am running a race today….

I kind of completely forgot that I am running a 7k race this afternoon. There are a few “issues” with this…
1. The race doesn’t start until 1pm. I don’t even know what to do until 1pm…I mean it is almost rude, making me sit here and just be antsy for hours and hours (remember I get up at 5:30am, so I have a looooong wait…)
2. I am conflicted over what to wear. Usually I can always depend on a morning April race in Indiana to be chilly at the start and I wear shorts and a long-sleeve dry fit. But for this random 1pm race, I am just at a complete loss. Here is what I have decided upon (I think):
imageI cannot possibly go wrong in my favorite shirt EVER— my 2011 Marine Corps Marathon shirt. I have confidence just wearing it ๐Ÿ™‚

wpid-IMG_20130427_090917_278.jpg

And my lucky Purdue shorts!! Please ignore the veins in my legs… no idea why they are huge and taking over in my calves. Hmm…

3. What in the WORLD do I eat?? I am up for hours and hours, and I looooove to snack in the morning. But I am not sure when to eat a full meal, when to have a snack, do I need the cliff bar that I normally eat??

….. you see the issue with a 1pm race. Clearly I am having a hard time with this.

I have no expectations for this run, and it is far more important that I am productive in studying afterward. I JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN!! Seriously… no PRs, no nerves, no crazy expectations. I just want to have fun! If I have a good day, great! If not, then I will get a redemption run in tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

What are your thoughts on Afternoon Races vs. Morning Races??

Do you have a favorite running outfit?

8 comments

  1. 7k? WOW! Best of luck- can’t wait to hear all about it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks so much!! Hope it goes well haha…my head is not really in it at all!!

  2. What kind of race starts at 1 pm?! I don’t even know what I would do with myself until then! Hahah.. sit around and think about racing all day? No thank you!! I hope you had an awesome race.. I know you rocked it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanksss it was actually so much fun!! after marathon’s and half marathongs… a 7k literally felt like a sprint!! And Yes, I sat around thinking about the race all morning getting antsy and nervous— not fun!! haha

  3. olivetorun · · Reply

    I’ve done afternoon races too and I have a love-hate relationship with them.
    I cannot wait to have a MCM shirt this year ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Yay for MCM shirts! I am so proud of mine haha and I can’t WAIT to get my Richmond Marathon shirt this fall ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the race suggestion!!

      1. olivetorun · ·

        Absolutely!! I hope you love it as much as I did last year ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. yikes a 1pm race. i’ve never done an afternoon race. but you still rocked it with 2nd place! congrats:)
    and running skirts are my fav. unless it is cold. then it’s running pants or capris.

Leave a Reply

