7k Race Recap, Awesome running community, BUFFET.

The 7k race was SO FUN! It honestly felt like a sprint since I never do that short of a run… It went by so fast!! I surprised myself with a 27:30 (about 6:19 pace).

My head was not in it as I stood waiting at the start line. It looked like it was about to rain, it was kind of cold, and I was just in the “complaining” type of mood. But the moment the gun went off, I immediately snapped into racing mode and was just THRIVING on the energy of the fast pace!

I finished as the second girl : )
image

I had to jump straight into the car (literally) to drive up north to meet up with my parents, then continue on up further north for my cousins surprise 40th Birthday!

But before I went, I talked with some of the other women runners at the finish, and it just confirmed what I have been saying forever– runners make the best friends/community/support-system/FUN people to be around! I didn’t know these girls at all and they immediately invited me to their morning runs, chatted about my “running career”, asked me about school… and it was just wonderful! I had mentioned before that while I love running by myself, I really am starting to miss group runs (especially in order to make a run a “recovery” run). Unfortunately, I had to decline the cool down run with them and instead haul a$$ to Carmel so we could make it to the party by 5pm (and remember this run started at 1pm).

image
So I had to change in the backseat of my mom’s mustang convertible (mom’s 50th birthday gift from dear old dad) which included changing jeans/bra/shirt/make-up… the whole deal. It was cramped. I was impressed with myself to say the least. Unfortunately I have the worlds worst hair (it is thick, frizzy, wavy, untameable) and it had to stay in a gross braid. Whatever, I am used to it.

After a 2 hour car ride of getting all nice and cramped (I had a 2 hour drive from the race to home, then 2 hours from home to the party) we finally got there and was greeted with the BEST BUFFET. Here is a small snippet of just one of the buffet tables (they had different “themed” tables) that does not do it justice. Oh, and there was also a chocolate fountain with a million and one things to dip in there. YUM.

image

image

One of the best parts of this whole thing, was that I just ate, was happy, played with my cousins whom I haven’t seen in forever, and didn’t worry or even think about the food or what I was or was not eating. I just enjoyed life.

image
I felt so positive and free. It wasn’t until we were leaving for the evening that I just turned around, looked at the buffet spread, and thought, “Wow, this didn’t scare me, intimidate me, make me anxious… I didn’t “pick” at only the veggies, but I didn’t stuff my face uncontrollably…” I just turned off my brain.
I am seriously more proud of this than the race yesterday!!

Oh and this is a picture of the “Thank You” DARK CHOCOLATE BARS that were given out. Obviously I took two. Finals week are upon me, and dark chocolate sounds like the perfect library snack 🙂

image

How was your weekend? What did you do? Any races?

Do you run with friends or solo?

Dark Chocolate or Milk Chocolate?

4 comments

  1. I am so happy that you were able to eat and not worry about it!! Remember that it is okay to worry, it would be unrealistic to think that you would never worry again, but what is important is to remember that you are STRONGER than your worries and you can overcome them! I am so excited to see that you are doing so well and that dinner looks delish! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much!! That is smart to remember… I am STRONGER than my worries. I love that. And you are right it is unrealistic to think I will never worry again ha… its life! Thank you for your support!! And reading about your days, life, balance, meals, workouts, etc really really helps me! So THANK YOUU!

  2. […] have been running and signing up for lots of races recently. I love races! Last weekend I ran a 7k, and this weekend I am running the Indianapolis Half Marathon, and I have a few more coming up in […]

  3. […] with a whole new set of people that I didn’t know! I got invited by a runner I met at the Magnificent 7 7k race in April! So sweet of her to think of me and invite […]

Leave a Reply

