How I got OUT of my Awesome Little Funk…

How Andrea is getting out of her Awesome Little Funk ((ALF-this is how I will now refer to it.))

1. 6 mile run with 4 miles of cut-downs in there (is it of any surprise that THIS ALONE seemed to pull me out of my ALF?)

2. Water. I realized that I had really not been drinking enough lately and that I was dehydrated and actually thirsty rather than hungry, which is why the mindless snacking and no meals thing that was going one– and this was what was really mentally getting me messed up.

3. Coffee. Yes I know, I just said water, and coffee can actually help dehydrate you, but I love nothing more than a good, black Cuppa Joe.

4. Sleep. I am notorious for awful nights sleep. I get excited when I get 6 hours worth. But last night was pretty darn good! I got 7 hours!

5. Talking to my Padre. He always reminds me that the things in life I worry about (he means food and exercising) are NOT Life and Death! He always reminds me to just relax.

6. Thinking about my Vacation in 2 weeks! My mom is taking me to Red Mountain Adventure Spa out in St. George, Utah for a week of clean eating, hiking, biking, yoga, Pilates, relaxation, and early to bed!! Can.Not.Wait.

7. Remembering I am 22 years old and the weight of the world is not on my shoulders.

8. Showering. As I mentioned in my Fun Facts About Yours Truly post, I could stand to shower a bit more in my week. Well, it is amazing what a hot, steaming shower and scrub down can do for a girl.

9. Prayer. I am so bad about this. I should turn to God first thing in all aspects, but I forget/try to deal with in on my own. I think, God doesn’t need to worry about this, its not a big enough deal to bring Him in, I can handle this myself. But God WANTS to be involved! He WANTS to worry for us!

10. Thinking about Boston, thinking about those out there who have serious problems in the world- disabled, struggling financially, abusive relationships, no relationship with their family, dealing with death of a loved one… And realizing how unbelievably blessed I am. Some times I almost feel guilty for living the life I have. In the grand scheme of things, there is nothing more I could possibly want. I am a happy girl.

Hope everyone has a great Wednesday and finds a million and one things to smile about throughout the day!!

12 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Yep, amazing what little things can help pull you out of a funk. That vacation sounds absolutely amazing but even the little things like water and sleep can really make a world of difference.

    1. True statement!! Its the little things in life ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. So glad you’re a happy girl! Jealous of an upcoming vacation, this nice weather makes me want to take one too! Good run!!

    1. Thank you so much!! I just gotta take a step back every now and then and gain some perspective! yes a vacation in 10 days will be WONDERFUL! I hope you can take one soon! Everyone could always use some relaxing days… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hydrating and sleep are usually the first two things I do when I need to pull myself out of a funk. It’s amazing what those two things can cure!

    1. I agree!! Some times it is just the little things, you know? Our bodies are so funny and sensitive… It knows when we need sleep/food/water/rest…. and yet we (our brains) don’t always listen! For me, that is when I find myself in the greatest Funk!
      Thanks for the comment and input!!

  4. You raise such a good point about snacking when you should really be drinking water. Yesterday I was ravenous around lunch time…even after I ate my lunch. I think I may have had a bit too much salt in my meal and I was thirsty, but instead my answer was to eat more. Ugh! I will have to make myself more aware of this. Thanks, girl! And glad you’re out of your ALF!

    1. Thank you so much! Ya it funny how much water/hydration can play such a big role in our mood/eating/sleep/energy/etc…. I always find I have the hardest time drinking lots of water in the winter (when I am cold!) and salty things I never seem to drink water with them… which is when I need water the most!! haha I will learn some day I guess!

  5. olivetorun · · Reply

    My dad is able to do that for me too. One of the books I love right now is Sarah Young’s Jesus Calling- it’s a VERY quick daily devotional that I do right when I get up. It probably takes 3 minutes but it sets the tone for my day.

    1. oh my gosh THANKS for the suggestion! I am always looking for new daily devotionals! Right now I get morning emails from WELLS and I really enjoy them… But I would love to have a supplemental thing too– and honestly a “quicker” one sounds perfect. Really, thanks… I love sharing positive things like this. And making God the first thing to start my day is something I want to get better with! Thank so much Cori!

      1. olivetorun · ·

        Let me know if you purchase it and what you think ๐Ÿ™‚ I sometimes post the passage on my Instagram if you want a preview!

      2. Oh perfect thanks i will check that out! Ya I just looked on Amazon and found it for a pretty good price, so I may go ahead and purchase it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

