Family dinner, Lilly Pulitzer & Trader Joes

Dinner last night for my mom’s birthday!! My grandma took us to a very expensive wonderful restaurant that my mom LOVES!! She always gets the most expensive steak on the menu. I, on the other hand, am obsessed with FISH! And on the menu was a super expensive Halibut that I would never in a million years be able to afford … but hey?! I wasn’t paying! So I ordered it ๐Ÿ™‚
And boy was a I glad I did…
image
It was gone in literally 10 minutes. The waitress came over and said, “Well, I see you hated your fish…” I also got a side of salty/crunchy sweet potato fries and a side salad to start with! YUM!

I was super full afterward, but not overly full, which is awful. I usually end up eating way to much on these “family” dinners because I am so nervous for them all day (yes nervous,because so many people around to “evaluate” my eating and not having control of exactly how it is cooked…) but last night I just ordered what looked good and ate it all! I am getting better at this! The anxiety wasn’t nearly as high as it usually is! Progress!

Speaking of progress, I have also gone about 2.5 weeks now without weighing myself and eating lots more… for a few days there I was dying to get on the scale, but now I definitely DONT want to know. I know the number will be much bigger than a few weeks ago, and I am ok with that, but I still don’t know how I would handle actually reading it on the scale.– You know what I mean?

Anyways, check out how stylish my grandma is! Have you guys heard of Lilly Pulitzer dresses? Apparently they were HUGE in the 60’s (?) and now they are making a major comeback!

image
I think she looks great in this get up! Don’t know if I could ever pull off “floral print” (like really, I have never worn a “floral” anything in my life) but she definitely rocked it!

Being back home for a hot second meant TRADER JOES!! As I branch out on my food, I decided that a cute little tub of animal crackers would be a wonderful addition to my meals/snacks! They are delicious! More like a cookie really… I will have to be careful not to sit down and eat the entire tub!!

image
And just wait till I smother these guys in Peanut-butter.

I plan on a long run today! It is really cold right now in Indy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and after a few weeks of warm weather running I am not sure If I can handle a cold run! (Yes, wimp). So either waiting for some “warmer” afternoon temps, or…. tomorrow maybe?
I have homework allllll day. That should be number 1. But squeezing in a long run is so much more fun to think about!!

Anyone own a Lilly Pulitzer? Do you want one?

Favorite Trader Joes Food? (I am pretty new to TJ’s and would love recommendations!)

5 comments

  1. pickyrunner · · Reply

    Yayyyy for going out to dinner being good for you! I did the same thing last night and almost bailed on my friends because I wanted to control my foods but I went and I had a lot of fun. And Lilly has always been my idol. I have been lusting over those clothes since I was young enough to talk. Still don’t own anything except a planner… My wallet can’t afford that!

    1. Oh my gosh I know right!! those clothes are SO EXPENSIVE!!
      And yay for YOU going out with friends! I still have a hard time with “parties” and “going out”… but getting better! Looks like we both are!! thanks for the encouragement girl!!!

  2. olivetorun · · Reply

    Ahi Tuna Steaks
    Their salsas!
    They have these individual packs of kettle corn that I love.
    Blue corn chips.
    Cookie butter.
    pumpkin pancake mix…
    Uhm, I could keep going. The Tuna steaks are a regular buy for us though especially in the summer. โค

    1. oh man i LOVE seared ahi tuna… it is usually only a “special occasion” that i eat it, but if i can find it at TJ’s for a relatively good price then it might just have to become a regular in my meals!
      Yay thank you so much for the ideas! I loved it when i walked in… can’t believe I hadn’t been there yet!!

      1. olivetorun · ·

        There are so many fun things to explore there! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

